LDoll 4 Reportage :D

I came back from LDoll yesterday and it was awesome, so as usual I am writing a reportage πŸ˜€

This year I decided to go all weekend so I could enjoy both days of the Festival since I had time (unlike last year). I went by train again from Milan and I arrived Friday night, in the same hotel last year (Ibis Budget), very smooth trip and familiar places to start.

Saturday morning, I woke up early and I was excited for the first day of Festival, this time however I knew what I should expect so I went earlier to avoid big lines (last year I waited an hour to get in) and I was one of the first people to enter (I bought a presale obviously) πŸ˜€ I only bought a doll with me this year: Charlotte, my Minifee Ryeon, but she got a lot of attention πŸ˜‰
I must say it is always an amazing feeling to see so many doll stuff, even if it was not exactly new to me but it is so unusual!!! Everything was totally awesome, there were so many gorgeous dolls: SWITCH, Another Space, Migidoll, Sadol, Dollmore and the european art dolls: dust of dolls, Lillicats, etc. and then all the amazing talented people selling stuff! When I got in I decided to shop, enjoying the fact that there weren’t many people yet. I had an idea of what I needed but I have to confess I ended up doing a lot of impulse shopping too ^^; I decided to get the most possible since you always save so much on shipping fees and it’s actually so much better to see what you buy in person! But I tried to convince myself I didn’t need a doll (even if it didn’t go as planned, more on that later) And probably there won’t be much money for dolls until Christmas hehehe but I am happy!!!
After shopping I went to meet with Floriana from HarajukuDolls, who had a stand there and it basically become my favorite spot on Ldoll! I spent a lot of time with her and we had a lot of fun together, meeting other people and enjoying the festival, a special thanks to you dear, it was a pleasure!!! And I also bought some beautiful dresses for my Narae, from her and she even gave me an amazing set as a gift πŸ˜€ (check her out, her style is amazing, pics soon!)
I also saw some faces from last year, like lovely Sanna from SweetNeat, and met some new people: it was awesome to meet everyone

On Sunday, I took everything easier, I did some shopping of little things I had missed the first day and then I went back to Floriana’s stand because we decided to have Charlotte model on her stand with her Ryeon, Bambi as twins. They are identical because they were both painted by Caroline from Viridian House (a total coincidence though), and it was fun to have “twin dolls” for once hehe πŸ™‚

Then there was the “unexpected new BJD” story later… I had been adoring a little MSD girl Peanut from Another Space (when I learned they were coming I was drooling all over their MSD dolls) and she was there in fullset at a good price. I came by for a couple of times and asked about her and when Lee (we met one of the sculpters in person!) understood I wanted her but I was indecisive, he offered to include another set of clothes and he gave us (me and Floriana) extra freebies!!! I couldn’t resist the offer obviously! He was so nice, it was awesome to meet personally the person who sculpted the doll I bought: she became so very special ❀ And this is the story of how I brought home a new doll πŸ™‚ I must say it is awesome to buy a doll and have her immediately, I have been wanting a less mature MSD doll for a while now and she is perfect: I have been planning of bringing my old character Γ‰milie Mignon back (she used to be a Jerryberry Berry), but maybe with a slightly different name (more on her soon), and I am keeping her fullset look: I love her wig and clothes, I just changed the eyes for glass because they were acrylics πŸ™‚

All in all, it was an awesome festival, I met amazing people and BJD professionals, I made friends and I saw and bought beautiful things (wish I had money to buy everything!!!). Thank you to all who participated!!! I love coming to Lyon and hopefully I will be there next year again ❀

Find all my photos of the Festival on my Flickr here:Β http://www.flickr.com/photos/w_i_s_h_e_s/sets/72157631785396288/

And here are some pics of my girls (Charlotte and new girl) after the LDoll showing off all the new stuff I got:

LDoll 4 Reportage <3

LDoll 4 Reportage <3

LDoll 4 Reportage <3

6 thoughts on “LDoll 4 Reportage :D

  1. Now that looks like a great haul of doll goodness! I wish I could attend something like that or at least wish Australia had something similar here. I’d love to be able to “see before I buy”.

    It sounds like it was a great day and it’s pretty awesome you got to meet the sculptor of your new doll. How do you find the Anotherspace MSD girl? I had been eyeballing the sculpt that used to be called “Howl” but I think her name was changed … ah, Choco she’s called now. When I saw DDE were now dealers for Anotherspace, I was very tempted to add Choco to my collection since they do the layaway but I actually don’t know anyone who has one of these dolls so could never find out their thoughts on the body/posing and the sculpts themselves.

    That and it’s so hard to find owner photos of these dolls. Are they still selling clothing too? Anotherspace that is?

    Thanks for the link to Harjukudolls. I think she has an Etsy store as well? I have her shop on my favourites tab but haven’t been able to buy anything yet.

    • Heheh! I’m really happy about all my shopping, I wish I had more time to take pictures and play πŸ™‚ It’s awesome to attend this kind of event, it’s such a different experience of the hobby!!! I totally recommend going if you have a chance πŸ™‚

      I loved the experience of getting my new doll in person from the sculptor, it was very special ❀ I must say I love her even more in person, I had been in love with Pudding and Choco too but when I saw Peanut I fell for her, especially in her fullset (much cuter than the pictures on the website). I like her body quite a lot, it is simple and single jointed but very sweet and well made (i am quite picky about hands and feet design and I must say they are great!). For a single jointed body she poses quite well, better than my Narae, but I am considering sueding her arms to get some more range of montion. She stands well on her own, she is very sturdy and stable πŸ™‚
      And yes, Another space still sells their amazing clothes but they are focusing mainly on dolls now!

      As for Harujukudolls, yes she has an etsy shop, and she will be putting the leftovers from LDoll on there soon. I totally recommend her work: they are so detailed and well made! And the Minifee boots are awesome: I managed to snatch 2 pairs πŸ˜‰ Here is the link for her Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/killingsissy?ref=search_shop_redirect

  2. Okay, only just now got a chance to browse through your photos of the festival on flickr. And thanks for reporting on it. I forgot to say that earlier when I commented this morning.

    I knew LDoll was big but I hadn’t realised how big of a scale the event was. Thanks for sharing all those photos, it really gives me an idea of the size of the event and the atmosphere there. I got all excited just seeing all the stalls and imagining how it must have felt to actually see and handle the dolls in person before buying.

    Looked like a lot of stalls and dolls. I got a bit giddy when I saw the stall with all the room boxes. Such a neat idea.

    I was going to ask for more peanut spam if you had the time but then I saw all the ones you posted of her on your flickr gallery. Her face up looks very lovely.

    Oh and that doll dressed in the Thai costume, I found that to be a treat. My grandmother was a temple dancer and those sorts of costumes were among her wardrobe attaire so it was neat to see it in that scale for a doll. Right down to those gold fingertip dressing. I remember those quite well.

    • LDoll is getting bigger every year, and there are a lot of professional exhibitors and non professional exhibitors joining too!!! Its so great to see all the dolls in person, you actually get a totally different feel of them than from the pictures online πŸ™‚ I am glad you enjoyed my pictures!!!

      I loved the room boxes too, too bad I hadn’t much space in my bag to carry something like that…!

      As for Peanut, I described you a bit in the other post! I love her face-up too, also that is much better in person than in the pictures from the website. I will make a post dedicated to her soon, with proper pics of her and maybe some body pictures, because a lot of people are curious about her πŸ™‚ Spam coming soon!!!

      The Thai doll was from a sewing/customisation contest, the topic was “Around the World!. I loved her too, and also the other entries: everyone did a great job!!!

  3. Wow! That sounds like it must have been such fun…and oh, those pictures with all the doll stuff! I think if I ever got to attend something like that, I’d have to leave my wallet at home! LOL

    Congratulations on your new doll; it’s lovely that you got to meet one of the sculptors! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you dear!!! Yeah it is soooo hard to resist buying…in fact I put myself on a budget, and even if I got a doll I managed not to go over it that much so it was ok! But everything was so tempting I wish I was a millionair and I would have bought at least one doll from each artist! They were all so amazing!!!! I love my new girl and she became so special when I met the person who did her and he was extremely nice!!! ❀

Leave a Reply

